Blink 182/My Chemical Romance Honda Civic Tour Review

10 Year Anniversary Honda Civic Tour:
Blink-182/My Chemical Romance
Darien Lake Performing Arts Center, Darien Center, NY, USA on August 11, 2011

It was a beautiful night at the Darien Lake Performing Arts Center and My Chemical Romance came on around 8pm. This was my first time watching My Chemical Romance (MCR) performing. From what I had heard, I was expecting an amazing live show with great theatrics. I was surprised by the song selection by the band; opting to play deeper cuts and much less of their new album, Danger Days. The crowd roared when the intro to the first song, “Sleep”, hit the P.A. Not being too familiar with MCR, I enjoyed the dance-part atmosphere they were giving off; filled with large confetti-filled balloons during “Planetary (GO!)”. The stripped down show with fog machine and a few lights was all the band needed to command the audience. Not a person was sitting for the entire set that became more serious halfway through when singing songs like “Welcome To The Black Parade”, “Mama”, and “Teenagers”. The band was on at all times and showed why they deserve to be sharing a stage with pop/punk legends like Blink-182. The lead singer, Gerard Way, seem to be having trouble with his vocals a few times through the show but the rest of his band helped with vocal duties when needed; which showed the camaraderie that many bands are lacking nowadays. I would have no problem paying to see MCR again and hope I have the chance to do so soon. Not at the fault of the band, the engineers were having troubles mixing the guitars and vocals throughout the set and you could tell even the band was having problems with them. 4/5

My Chemical Romance Setlist:
1. Sleep
2. Give ‘Em Hell, Kid
3. Planetary (GO!)
4. Helena
5. The Kids From Yesterday
6. Welcome To The Black Parade
8. Mama
9. Teenagers
10. I’m Not Okay (I Promise)
11. Famous Last Words

After half an hour of rip down of My Chemical Romance and set up of Blink-182’s gear, it was time for the headliners to take the stage. I had seen Blink-182 during the Pop Disaster Tour right after Take Off Your Pants and Jacket” and was not happy with their performance but always wanted to hear live cuts off their self-titles album but the break up halted my chances; this was now my chance. Beginning a set with the roaring drum intro to “Feeling This” was a perfect opener to a great live set. Blink-182 showed how proud they were for not just being back together but for creating a great new set of songs by playing their first single off of the new album, Neighborhoods, “Up All Night”. Knowing the fans were there to celebrate the full catalog of Blink, the singles came next with songs like “The Rock Show” and “What’s My Age Again?”. After hearing a surprise showing of “Violence”, a deep cut from the self-titled record, a new titled “After Midnight” was showcased. “After Midnight” sounds like Tom and Travis from their Box Car Racer days and that’s not a bad thing. Another new song, “Ghost on the Dancefloor” was played which demonstrated the new way Blink-182 was going; dance pop with pop/punk sprinkled on top. The last song, before the encore, was the Dude Ranch single “Josie” which took many aback because of the unexpectedness. The encore brought new-school and old-school together when Travis Barker came out and soloed to some of his Give the Drummer Some tracks. Blink finished the night out with two old favorites, “Carousel” and “Dammit”, and ended with the curse-laden “Family Values”. Blink-182 surprised everyone with tracks dating back to 1994’s Cheshire Cat and playing so many new tracks off their new album Neighborhoods. Filled with smoke machines and an amazing laser-light show, Blink-182 put on one of the best performances I have seen in my life. After being disappointed almost ten years ago, I was happy to see and hear my pop/punk heroes have proved that they will last for a long time after making great new music but never forgetting who they are or where they came from. 4.5/5
Blink-182 Setlist:
1. Feeling This
2. Up All Night
3. The Rock Show
4. What’s My Age Again?
5. Down
6. I Miss You
7. Stay Together for the Kids
8. Dumpweed
9. Always
10. Violence
11. After Midnight
12. First Date
13. Heart’s All Gone
14. Man Overboard
15. Ghost on the Dancefloor
16. All the Small Things
17. Josie
18. Drum Solo
19. Carousel
20. Dammit
21. Family Reunion