Attack! Attack! Reissue Review

When I initially heard Attack Attack! Was reissuing their self-titled album only a year after it’s original release, I was not very impressed. It simply looked like a way to cash in before they move onto the next album. But whether that was the case or not, I was pleasantly surprised when I dove into the album.

As a fan of the bands debut album, Someday Came Suddenly, and a “hater” of their self-titled album, I did not expect to enjoy these new songs. Opening tracks “Last Breath” was a huge surprise. It still contains the expected breakdown, but displays vocalist Caleb Shomo’s new found clean vocals and improved scream. My biggest complaint with their self-titled album was how generic Caleb’s screaming was, and it really impressed me how drastically better it has gotten. After being impressed by “Last Breath”, “Pick A Side” really disappointed me. It will appeal to those who loved the self-titled, seeing as it is all heavy. Moving past the black spot on the reissue, I encountered both “Criminal” and “All Alone”. Much like the opening track, these songs show off Shomo’s impressive clean vocals, while still maintaining a certain heaviness expected. Another thing that the listener will notice is the lack of electronics compared to their previous albums. While it is noticeable, it does not take away from the new songs at all.

Once you get through the 4 new tracks and 10 original tracks, there are two remixes. The first, a remix of “Sexual Man Chocolate”, is what has come to be expected of a metalcore remix song. It contains the standard dubstep “wobs” and repeated lines from the song. The second remix, “AC-130”, bares very little resemblance to the original, with the exception of the repeated “You’re better off dead!” All in all, the remixes come across as b-sides from Bring Me The Horizon’s Suicide Season: Cut Up!

As the album comes to a close, we get treated to 2 acoustic re-workings of songs off the original release (“I Swear I’ll Change”, Turbo Swag). Both tracks display Shomo’s impressive clean vocals. Some fans may get angry because they aren’t “brutal” enough, but fans that have a more diverse taste in music will be very impressed. Though these songs were probably my least favorite on the original release, their acoustic counterparts are quite impressive.

In the end, this reissue is worth your time and money. The new tracks show great progression, and the acoustic tracks are a nice treat for the listener. Even the lyrics are less cliché than in the past. If you are a fan of music in the metalcore genre, this release will surely have at least one or two songs you will enjoy.

Rating: 3.5/5

Standout Tracks: Last Breath, Criminal, “I Swear I’ll Change” (Acoustic)