The Dear Hunter – The Color Spectrum The Complete Collection Review

Back when I interviewed Casey Crescenzo last year on their headlining tour he was mentioning he was working on an undertaking of songs all based on the colors of the rainbow, and using black and white as basically the book ends. Being a huge Dear Hunter fan I was immediately excited at the possibilities of what this could entail and also extremely amazed that The Dear Hunter was looking to release 9 EPs at once.

Fast forward a year and The Color Spectrum has been released through Triple Crown Records, featuring 36 brand new songs. I must admit when Casey mentioned this undertaking I figured that the EPs would probably contain some filler considering the massiveness of the project, but boy was I wrong. Everything from the production to the songwriting is absolutely amazing.

What I find to be The Color Spectrum’s greatest strength I also think is it’s greatest weakness and that is how much each color sounds completely different from the last. It is truly remarkable how Casey can change genres such as blues, rock, electronic, piano rock, grunge and more with perfect ease. It’s almost startling how easily Casey can transform The Dear Hunter to sound like Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails, Phish, Ben Folds, and even Coldplay and even doing those bands sounds better than they can.

With each color having only 4 songs and such different moods and style changes you would think that it would be difficult to follow along, but each color blends pretty seamlessly into each other. That being said inevitably like myself you most likely are most likely going to find certain colors that you really love and others that you could do with out (yellow, yes I’m looking at you).

Overall The Color Spectrum is absolutely incredible from top to bottom it truly shows off how much of a musical genius and talent Casey Crescenzo is. From a listening standpoint it’s quite the undertaking just listening to a 36 song collection and I cant even imagine the musical undertaking that this took.

In closing while there is something for everyone on this album, most likely not everything on this album will appeal to just one listener. Regardless this is an album that is truly worth supporting and picking up.

Score: 4.5/5
Standout Tracks: Filth and Squalor, Deny It All, No God, This Body

Track Listing:

1. Never Forgive, Never Forget
2. Filth And Squalor
3. Take More Than You Need
4. This Body

1. I Couldn’t Do It Alone
2. A Curse Of Cynicism
3. Deny It All
4. We’ve Got A Score To Settle

1. Echo
2. Stuck On A Wire, Out On The Fence
3. A Sea of Solid Earth
4. But There’s Wolves?

1. She’s Always Singing
2. The Dead Dont Starve
3. A Sua Voz
4. Misplaced Devotion

1. Things That Hide Away
2. The Canopy
3. Crow And Cackle
4. The Inheritance

1. Tripping In Triplets
2. Trapdoor
3. What You Said
4. The Collapse Of The Great Tide Cliffs

1. What Time Taught Us
2. Mandala
3. Progress
4. Therma

1. Mr. Malum
2. Lillian
3. Too Late
4. Look Away

1. Home
2. Fall And Flee
3. No God
4. Lost But Not All Gone