Circa Survive – Blue Sky Noise Review

Circa Survive – Blue Sky Noise
Label: Atlantic Records
For Fans of: Anthony Green, Chiodos, Saosin
Release Date: 4/20/10

Circa Survive’s latest release Blue Sky Noise is a record that has been over two years in the making. The record almost never came to light, with lead singer Anthony Green feeling the enormous pressures of trying to create a record that elevated their music to the next level. Well let me tell you what, thank God that this record was created because it is truly remarkable.

From front to back “Blue Sky Noise” is an album in every sense of the word. This is truly a record that should not be bought by individual songs but together as a whole piece. Everything about the new record really has been elevated, from the lyrics to the sheer musicianship of the band Circa Survive has really found a way to take up their already incredible sound to the next level.

Anthony Green’s vocals have really never sounded better and his lyrics have never been so poignant. I really didn’t think it was possible for him to improve upon himself but he has done it. Speaking of stepping it up, the band has really gone above and beyond writing songs on “Blue Sky Noise”. There is absolutely no filler on this album, with each song being carefully thought out and wasting no time delivering the goods.

While I dig basically every track on this album I am a big fan of the more in your face tracks such as “Get Out” and “Imaginary Enemy”, to me this is when the band is at it’s best. The more aggressive in your face feel really just grabs you and commands your attention. That being said songs such as “Frozen Creek” provide a nice breather for the album and are also top notch quality.

Standout Tracks: Get Out, Imaginary Enemy, Glass Arrows

Buy Blue Sky Noise HERE

Track Listing:
1. Strange Terrain
2. Get Out
3. Glass Arrow
4. I Felt Free
5. Imaginary Zebra
6. Through the Desert Alone
7. Frozen Creek
8. Fever Dreams
9. Spirit of The Stairwell
10. The Longest Mile
11. Compendium
12. Dyed in the Wool

Score: 5/5