Review Of Motion City Soundtrack’s My Dinosaur Life

Motion City Soundtrack’s major label debut on Columbia Records, My Dinosaur Life, was nothing short of amazing and would be their breakthrough album. After hearing it I cannot do anything else but hit repeat and agree with them completely!

Mark Hoppus of Blink-182 fame produced this wondrous fourth album from MCS, and I know that fans were highly anticipating its release. His influence can definitely be heard throughout the album, especially in the songs ‘Delirium’ and ‘Pulp Fiction’ .

I have seen MCS perform live many times, most recently this past December; as soon as they played a few new songs during their set I was hooked once again. My computer was preoccupied with their MySpace
page for the next couple of days as I absorbed the new tracks in.

My Dinosaur Life starts off with the upbeat ‘Worker Bee’ and then transitions into ‘A Lifeless Ordinary (I Need A Little Help)’, which is one of my favorite tracks on the album. It’s very poppy, catchy and addictive. Their sound has definitely evolved and grown since I Am the Movie was released in 2002/2003, but don’t get me wrong, I do see more similarities between My Dinosaur Life and I Am the Movie than I see differences. Tracks like ‘History Lesson’ and ‘Stand Too Close’ slows the pace of the album down slightly, they are a little softer than the others, but things pick right back up with ‘Pulp Fiction’.

The majority of the album is fast paced though with tracks like ‘Disappear’ leading the pack as another one of my favorites on the album. It is nothing but classic MCS. The whole thing from start to finish is very clean and catchy; I could honestly listen to it on repeat all day long. I highly recommend checking out My Dinosaur Life.
The whole album is available now on Motion City Soundtrack’s MySpace page for your listening pleasure; which is nice if you don’t have the cash right now to shell out for it (even though it is well worth it!).

I also recommend that if you get the chance to see these guys perform live, GO! You will not be disappointed! Motion City Soundtrack is currently on tour in the U.S. now, and will soon be playing in Australia, Japan and Europe this spring.


My Dinosaur Life Track Listing:

1. Worker Bee
2. A Lifeless Ordinary (Need a Little Help)
3. Her Words Destroyed My Planet
4. Disappear
5. Delirium
6. History Lesson
7. Stand Too Close
8. Pulp Fiction
9. @!#[email protected]!
10. Hysteria
11. Skin and Bones
12. The Weakends