Comeback Kid – Die Knowing

comeback_kid_die_knowingComeback Kid
Die Knowing
(Victory Records)

When Comeback Kid first hit the scene on Facedown Records, most people loved the up tempo melodies and sing alongs the band brought to the table.  It was brilliantly done.  After Scott left and Andrew took over on vocals for Broadcasting there was a shift slightly less aggressive, slightly more “consumable”.  Symptoms & Cures saw a more speedy, thrashy side from Comeback Kid.  It seems they’ve consistently reinvented themselves from album to album, and Die Knowing is no exception to this rule.  But when you’ve been a band for 14 years, reinvention just kind of comes with the territory.

Out of the gates with the title track, Die Knowing builds on what the band started with Symptoms & Cures, a slowly building avalanche of an opener that doesn’t burst but rather broods in its own fury.  But shortly thereafter are two tracks that rank among the best Comeback Kid has released in “Wasted Arrows” and “Losing Sleep”, drawing largely from old school New York hardcore influences packed tightly with crunchy guitar runs and dog pile inducing sing alongs.

Not to be out-shined, the first single from the album is the total rager “Should Know Better”, daring you to walk away without having the chorus ingrained on your brain for the rest of the day.  An album like Die Knowing is a good example of a record where no track stands out, but in a totally different way than you’d normally use the phrase.  Every track off of the album has something lively and endearing about it, whether it’s the sheer aggression, brooding frustration, or party jams, if you’re a fan of hardcore, this album should find its way into your regular rotation.

By far Die Knowing shows Canadian juggernauts Comeback Kid and their most aggressive.  With this album, the band underwent another lineup change, this time bringing in hardcore heavyweight Stu Ross (Misery SignalsBurning EmpiresLowtalker) to fill the rhythm guitar position vacant when Casey Hjelmberg left the band.  Whether you acknowledge this as a reason for the shift or not, you cannot deny that the band has grown to be heavier, faster, and angrier.

“The goal with Die Knowing was to really capture the best parts of our live show and put those elements into the album. This will be the biggest and heaviest sounding Comeback Kid album to date,” singer Andrew Neufeld explained.  I don’t think a more applicable explanation that could be applied to this album.  Live, Comeback Kid is aggressive, energetic, and powerful, all of which is encapsulated by the musicianship on Die Knowing.  That’s not to say the album is short on melody, you’ll get your CBK melody fix, don’t worry about that, but it is overpoweringly aggressive, fitting more with the likes of Stray From the Path or Sworn In than previous albums.

Track Listing:

1. Die Knowing
2. Lower The Line
3. Wasted Arrows
4. Losing Sleep (feat. Pauly Correia)
5. Should Know Better
6. I Depend, I Control
7. Somewhere In This Miserable…
8. Beyond
9. Unconditional
10. Didn’t Even Mind
11. Full Swing (feat. Scott Wade)
12. Sink In

Comeback Kid Reinvents Again! Live, Comeback Kid is aggressive, energetic, and powerful, all of which is encapsulated by the musicianship on Die Knowing.
Style & Structure90
Lyrical Content85
Replay Factor90
Production Quality95


About Shane Matthew

view all posts

Your friendly neighborhood Music Editor. Band guy turned promoter, then publicist. Exited publicity to manage a merchandising company. Now I write about music again, because it's my first love.